Videogame statistics


I found following picture on the net. I’m just assuming the numbers are correct, or at least, as correct as you can expect from statistics.

Videogame Statistics
Source: Online Education

Now I knew that consoles were selling more games than PC’s were doing, but I had never checked the actual numbers. I think it’s astonishing.

A few other stats also stand out in my opinion: the amount of women playing for example, but also the average age. I used to think it was kinda cool that my 40+ sister in law and my niece both had their own consoles and fought over the TV with my nephews, but it’s apparently not as unique as I suspected.

The WoW on console discussion has probably been held a million times before, and I don’t think that will ever work. It’s not like FPS games that just require a few little tweaks to work with a controller. This gameplay is completely different. I really can’t see myself heal with a controller for example, so I won’t raise that question.

The only thing I would’ve liked to see are the total amount of gamers, or a rough estimate. Just to get an idea how large percentage of gamers actually plays Warcraft, I’m getting the feeling it’s relatively small, even though I usually get the feeling everybody plays it. There are claims are that Warcraft has 11.5 subscribers, but then I also see claims that WotLK has only sold 4 million copies. While warcraftrealms has this number: 6,241,24I. I still don’t know how to interpret that, if they aren’t complete lies 😉

3 Responses to “Videogame statistics”


  1. 1 Chris Anthony | Duct Tape and a Prayer March 15, 2010 at 02:31

    For what it’s worth, WarcraftRealms’s number isn’t the number of active accounts; it’s the number of characters that WarcraftRealms has seen online in the last 30 days. Blizzard’s also long maintained that sites like WOWCensus and WarcraftRealms don’t have accurate statistics (which is pretty easy to believe, given that they rely on /who statistics rather than actual server statistics), but that’s neither here nor there. Point is, there are accounts with more than one character active (like mine), and accounts with no characters active in the last 30 days (like my wife’s; she started a business and doesn’t have time to play).

    My suspicion is that WOTLK has sold 4 million copies in the US, and more abroad; the 11.5 million subscribers is worldwide. (Keep in mind, too, that many of those 11.5 million subscribers are Chinese, and the government only just approved Wrath for sale in China, so I’m reasonably sure that none of the Chinese players had the expansion yet at the time that figure was published. 🙂

    As for gamers, US census data recorded 273.6 million people living in 105.5 million households in 2000. They extrapolate 310.2 million people for 2010; assuming the ratio holds, that’s 119.6 million households. The graphic claims that 65% of those have gamers, so that’s 77.7 million households with at least one gamer living there.

    (What bugs me about the graphic is that the top five games include games that were bundled with consoles as their primary means of distribution. Even now Wii Sports isn’t meant to be sold separately; Amazon lists it as just as replacement for a missing or damaged disc.)

    • 2 Daxlim March 15, 2010 at 16:14

      You’re right about warcraftrealms seeing alts as separate players, I forgot about that. That number is quite useless even as a very rough total estimate then, as I know people with 10 leveled alts (I’ve even got 6 myself).

      I liked WR mainly because they only display the data over 30 days, those are (well that’s what I thought) the true active players, as in “now”. I pretty sure that the numbers Blizzard publishes also include frozen accounts, whether they’re frozen for a month or more than a year

      Which I can totally understand from their perspective, btw, but I was just curious to the actual number of actual active players.

      Your suspicion about the Chinese being the 7.5 million missing WotLK owners sounds like a good explanation, even though that’s a shockingly large number then 🙂

      But, I can get a very rough estimate now with the numbers you provided.

      Grabbed this number from a gamers site: 2.05 million sales WotLK US (http://www.vgchartz.com/games/game.php?id=13834). (Edit: total number of wotlk sales is 5M here).

      77.7 million households with a gamer.

      So: 2.5% of all US gaming households play Warcraft, assuming there’s only one copy per household, so the real number is even lower than that.

      That quite low actually! Though it’s for US, and it might be higher in EU, I have a more local personal perspective of course 🙂


  1. 1 So here’s the WoW graph.. « Ress me please! Trackback on March 27, 2010 at 20:44

Leave a Reply

