So here’s the WoW graph..


Two weeks ago I wrote about a graph about gamers statistics. Accidentally, I browsed across that site again today and what did I find? A graph dedicated specifically to World of Warcraft:

The Unbelievable World of Warcraft
Via: Online Schools

I have wondered a few times before what the upkeep of their servers was costing Blizzard. Considering the amount of money blizzard is making from the game, I was curious how much of that was actually going into their server park.

Now I’ve got a number: 50 million per year.

Which is still nothing compared to the revenue, because only US and EU already generate 16 times that amount per year.

So, let’s see, even if those 150 developers made a million a year, which I doubt, and EU/US is their only source of income right now, which it isn’t, that means 600 million is left.. I’m pretty sure the office rent, business lunches, management, the marketing department and the cleaning lady aren’t burning the rest completely. Still, I can only guess how much of that money is profit. Can it be that most of it is profit? I get the strong feeling it is!

A job in game development sounds more interesting each day..

1 Response to “So here’s the WoW graph..”


  1. 1 Ari March 28, 2010 at 01:07

    Ok, that was not entirely unexpected, but still… Holy cow!


Leave a comment




March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives